A stroll through the vines

Vine is looking good

Well-trained vines for well-treated grapes

Traditionally, grapevines were grown in "cup" formation: the vine shoots are divided around a central stalk, like the fingers of a hand. But this shape seems to be disappearing, in favour of trellising, meaning the vines are attached to a structure in order to better care for them. In Provence, the vines need to be protected from the prevailing winds. This is why winemakers have chosen to plant rows of grapevines in the direction of the wind, in fairly low trellises and a short cut.

vi_070608_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Restanques, a feature unique to Provence

Grapevines are also happy on terraces

The beautiful scenery of Provençal vineyards was sculpted by winemakers who adapt their cultivation of the vines to the terroir and the Mediterranean climate. And "restanques" are a noteworthy feature of this. They are terraces set up to be perpendicular to the slope, which is necessary in order to limit soil erosion on sloping plots. Working there is an arduous endeavour, because most machines are unable to navigate them.

A beneficial climate

The Mediterranean climate, a boon to grapevines

The Provençal climate is hot and dry with regular episodes of wind. The humidity of summer storms and early autumn rains is quickly swept away by the Mistral winds. These characteristics limit the presence of parasites and naturally curb the development of diseases among the vines, which are healthier and require less pest control treatment than more northerly vineyards.

Provençal typicity

Vineyards designed for quality rosés

In Provence, rosé is rooted in wine-making traditions. Vineyard management, planting, vine cultivation and wine-making methods are chosen specifically by the winemaker to produce rosé wines.

The sunny, dry and windy Mediterranean climate, proximity to the sea, the diversity of Provençal topography, in short the "terroir", will also, along with the varietals, influence the typicity of the AOC rosé wines produced in Provence.

In managing a vineyard, the Provençal winemaker will consider three factors that are decisive to the production of high-quality rosés:

  • The vines' moisture regime
  • The nutrients they receive
  • The specific management of their foliage.

Another unique feature of vineyards specializing in rosé is the harvest. The harvest date is often earlier than for white and red wines. The grapes are picked when they reach optimal ripeness to guarantee the right balance between alcohol and acidity. Harvesting in Provence is done "in the cool of morning" to prevent the alteration of the grapes which are then taken to the cellar and kept as cool as possible. All these steps give producers access to wine-making from the "heart of the berry" for their rosés.

tc_0605b_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Through the seasons

Spring

Budbreak
In March/April, the buds begin to form. The branches and leaves also grow, as the vine awakens. The sap has been circulating through plant for several weeks and, when it can be seen coming out of the end of the branch in a small droplet, it is poetically said that the vine is "crying".

Flowering
In May/June, small flowers appear. They already have the shape of the future clusters of grapes. At this period, the "green operations" consist of looking after the vineyard to ensure that it produces lovely grapes with concentrated juices: trimming, topping (cutting off the ends of the branches to prevent the vines from growing too much), debudding (removing useless branches), and more. This is also the time for planting new vines.

vi_070402_inflor_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Summer

Berry set
In June/July, grape berries appear in the fertilized flowers. This number of berries allows the winemaker to make an initial estimate of the size of the coming harvest. The foliage continues to develop.

Veraison
Up until this point, all of the grapes have still been green. But in August, they swell up, ripen and take on their red colouring. The grapes also become less acidic and richer in sugars and flavours. This ripening will continue until harvest time.

Vine maintenance
The winemakers thin out the leaves to improve the exposure and aeration of the bunches of grapes, as well as the health of the vines. When the fruit is plentiful, winemakers may sometimes thin out the bunches. The purpose of that operation is to remove bunches from overloaded vines so that the plant can concentrate its juices on the remaining grapes.

cabernet.jpg

Autumn

Harvest
In Provence, the harvest season begins in the second half of August, in the early-harvest sectors along the coastline. Harvesting then continues through early autumn, October at the latest. As a general rule, harvest takes place about 100 days after flowering.
Every minute counts: the grapes are picked either by hand or mechanically, using a grape harvester machine. Because it can get very hot in the middle of the day, harvesting starts early in the morning, sometimes even before daybreak with the harvester machines. It is not a matter of comfort, but rather of preventing any changes in the grapes, that would damage the flavour and colour of the wine. After being picked early in the day, the harvest is brought to a lower temperature in the storehouse, requiring less energy to cool it to make rosé or white wine.

Dormancy
In November, the leaves change colours and start to fall. This is the beginning of the vine's period of dormancy. Since mid-August, the sap has been descending, with reserves accumulating in the roots.

vi_091201_16_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Winter

Dormancy
From November to February, the grapevines enter a period of hibernation known as dormancy. The vines shrink in on themselves and take advantage of the reserves they built up since August. Sap no longer circulates through the plant. The wine-grower prunes the vines to remove any shoots and select the buds that will produce the next year's growth and fruit. During this period, the soil is worked. The growers plough the earth to aerate the soil. This allows rainwater to penetrate it better. This is also a time for applying fertilizer and organic matter.

vi_120201_19_hiver_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Promenade dans les vignes

La vigne a belle allure

Vignes bien palissées pour raisins bien soignés

Traditionnellement, les vignes sont conduites en gobelets : les sarments sont ramifiés autour d’un pied central comme les doigts d’une main. Mais cette taille tend à disparaître, au profit de vignes conduites en palissage, c’est-à-dire attachées à une structure pour mieux les soigner. En Provence, il faut se protéger des vents dominants. C’est pourquoi les vignerons ont choisi de planter les rangées de vignes dans le sens du vent avec un palissage assez bas et une taille courte.

vi_070608_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

LES RESTANQUES, UNE PARTICULARITÉ PROVENÇALE

La vigne aussi se plaît en terrasses.

Ces paysages si beaux des vignobles provençaux, ce sont les vignerons qui les ont sculptés, en adaptant la culture de la vigne au terroir et au climat méditerranéen. Et les restanques en sont une particularité notable. Ce sont des terrasses perpendiculaires au sens de la pente, nécessaires pour limiter l’érosion du sol dans les parcelles très pentues.. Le travail y est ardu, car la plupart des machines ne peuvent pas passer.

Un climat bénéfique

Le climat méditerranéen est un atout pour la vigne

Le climat spécifique provençal est chaud, sec avec des épisodes venteux réguliers. L’humidité des orages d’été ou des pluies de début d’automne est rapidement balayée par le Mistral. Ces caractéristiques atténuent la présence des parasites et freine naturellement le développement des maladies dans les vignes. Elles sont plus saines et ont moins besoin de traitements phytosanitaires que dans les vignobles plus septentrionaux.

La typicité Provençale

Le vignoble est pensé pour un vin rosé de qualité

En Provence, le rosé est ancré dans les traditions viticoles. La conduite du vignoble, la culture de la vigne et les modes de vinification sont choisis spécifiquement par le vigneron pour l’élaboration du vin rosé. Le climat méditerranéen ensoleillé, sec et venteux, la proximité de la mer, la diversité du relief provençal et le choix des cépages vont également compléter l'influence du terroir sur la typicité des vins rosés AOC produits en Provence.
Dans sa conduite du vignoble, le vigneron provençal va tenir compte de 3 facteurs déterminants pour la production de vin rosé de qualité :

  • le régime hydrique de sa vigne
  • les éléments nutritifs qui lui sont apportés
  • la gestion spécifique du feuillage.

Autre particularité d’un vignoble spécialiste du rosé : la vendange. La date de récolte est souvent plus précoce que pour les vins blancs ou rouges. Le raisin est cueilli à maturation optimale afin de garantir l’équilibre alcool / acidité. Les vendanges en Provence se font « à la fraîche » pour éviter que les raisins ne s’altèrent, puis sont apportées au chai à une température la plus basse possible. Toutes ces étapes vont permettre au vigneron d’accéder à une vinification « cœur de grain » pour ses rosés.

tc_0605b_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Au fil des saisons

Printemps

Le débourrement
En mars/avril, les bourgeons commencent à se développer. Les rameaux et les feuilles poussent eux aussi : la vigne se réveille. Depuis quelques semaines, la sève circule à nouveau dans la plante et, quand on la voit pointer au bout du rameau en une petite goutte, on dit poétiquement que la vigne « pleure ».

La floraison
En mai/juin, de petites fleurs apparaissent. Elles ont déjà la forme des futures grappes de raisin. A cette période, les « opérations en vert » consistent à entretenir le vignoble pour assurer de beaux raisins au jus concentré : rognage, écimage (qui consiste à couper l'extrémité des rameaux pour éviter que la vigne ne grandisse trop), ébourgeonnage (suppression des rameaux inutiles)… C'est également la période de plantation des nouvelles vignes.

vi_070402_inflor_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Eté

La nouaison
En juillet, les baies de raisins naissent dans les fleurs fécondées. Le nombre de baies qui apparaissent permet au vigneron de faire une première estimation de la quantité de récolte à venir. Le feuillage continue à se développer.

La véraison
Jusqu’à présent, tous les raisins étaient encore vert. Mais en août, ils grossissent, mûrissent et prennent leur couleur rouge. Le raisin devient aussi moins acide, s’enrichit en sucres et arômes. Cette maturation va durer jusqu’aux vendanges.

L’entretien de la vigne
Les vignerons vont effeuiller les vignes pour améliorer l'exposition et l'aération des grappes ainsi que l'état sanitaire des vignes. Si les raisins sont abondants, les vignerons peuvent aussi procéder à un éclaircissage des grappes. Cette opération vise à supprimer des grappes sur les vignes qui ont une charge de raisin trop importante, afin de permettre à la plante de concentrer le jus dans les raisins restants.

cabernet.jpg

Automne

Les vendanges
En Provence, les vendanges démarrent dès la seconde quinzaine du mois d’août dans les secteurs précoces du littoral. Elles se poursuivront jusqu’au début de l’automne, en octobre pour les vignobles les plus tardifs. En règle générale, les vendanges ont lieu environ une centaine de jours après la floraison. Chaque minute compte : les raisins sont récoltés soit manuellement, soit mécaniquement avec une machine à vendanger. Comme il peut faire très chaud en pleine journée, les vendanges débutent tôt le matin, parfois même avant la levée du jour avec les machines à vendanger. Ce n’est pas une question de confort mais il faut éviter que les raisins ne s’altèrent, ce qui nuirait aux arômes et à la couleur du vin. Récoltée de bonne heure, la vendange est apportée à une température plus basse au chai et nécessite moins d’énergie pour la refroidir pour la vinification en rosé ou en blanc.

Le repos végétatif
En novembre, les feuilles changent de couleur et commencent à tomber. C’est le début du repos végétatif de la vigne. Depuis la mi-août, la sève avait commencé à redescendre, et les réserves se sont accumulées dans les racines.C'est également la période de plantation des nouvelles vignes.

vi_091201_16_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Hiver

La dormance
De novembre à février, la vigne entre dans une période de sommeil appelée le repos hivernal, ou la dormance. La vigne va se recroqueviller sur elle-même et profiter de ses réserves stockées depuis le mois d’août. La sève ne circule plus dans la plante. Le viticulteur taille la vigne, afin de supprimer les sarments, sélectionner les bourgeons qui donneront des pousses et les fruits l’année suivante. C'est la période du travail du sol. Les vignerons pratiquent des labours qui permettent d’aérer le sol. Les eaux de pluies pénètrent alors mieux. C'est également la période d'enfouissement des engrais et des matières organiques.

vi_120201_19_hiver_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg