Trees

Area

49,670

acres

cap_050118_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg
coteaux_aix_en_provence_hectolitres_en.png
coteaux_aix_en_provence_2_bouteilles_en.png
coteaux_aix_en_provence_hectolitres_mobile_en.png
coteaux_aix_en_provence_2_bouteilles_mobile_en.png

Wine sector

coteaux_aix_en_provence_3_filiere_en.png
coteaux_aix_en_provence_4_rendement_en.png
coteaux_aix_en_provence_2_bouteilles_mobile_en_1.raw.png

Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence AOC recognized in

1985
The vineyards of Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence are the furthest to the West among the wines of Provence. The appellation area extends from the Durance River to the Mediterranean Sea, and from the Rhône Valley (West) to Sainte-Victoire Mountain (East). It surrounds the Etang de Berre and crosses through the landscapes painted by Cézanne. Wine activities here are concentrated between the mountainous relief of a series of secondary chains running parallel to the coast: the Nerthe, the Fare, the Eguilles, and the Trévaresse (extended by the Alpilles).

Protection from the mistral

The Mediterranean climate is marked by the Mistral, predominantly cold, dry winds blowing from the North. This gives the appellation an annual average of 2,900 hours of sunshine. The little precipitation that it receives – between 550 and 680 mm each year – primarily falls during spring and autumn.

cap_110804_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Varied soils

In this Western part of calcareous Provence, the majority of the soil is:

  • Stony clay and limestone;
  • Sandy, often gravelly on molasse and sandstone; or
  • Stony with a clay or loamy-sand matrix on the terraces of the Arc and the Durance.
dscn7386_cedric_skrzypczak_civp.jpg

Tasting notes - 2016 vintage

Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence Rosés

The 2016 Rosés are pale pink colour with slightly blue to grey tones. Fruity rather than floral, and often intense, they have an expressive nose, with aromas ranging from citrus fruits to red fruit. They offer a fullness on the palate and a slight acidity that counters the power of the alcohol. Complex, powerful and fruity, these Rosé wines, which are still closed during the winter months, will open up in the spring, when they will be the perfect accompaniment to Mediterranean and Asian cuisines.

gv_090801_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence Reds

The colours of the red wines from the 2016 vintage range from ruby reds to deep purples; they have complex noses characterized by notes of dark fruit. They are powerful, and structured on the palate with a long finish; they should be consumed after a significant ageing period. The 2016 vintage can be compared to the great vintages of 2011 and 2015.

rouge_4_fondacci_civp.jpg

Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence Whites

The 2016 whites are simultaneously delicate, expressive and powerful. They offer a complex nose characterised by the traditional notes of white flowers and citrus; they are full and round on the palate, with a long finish.

gv_blanc_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Trees

Superficie

4 127

Hectares

cap_050118_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg
coteaux_aix_en_provence_1_hectolitres.png
coteaux_aix_en_provence_2_bouteilles.png
coteaux_aix_en_provence_1_hectolitres_mobile.png
coteaux_aix_en_provence_2_bouteilles_mobile.png

La filière viticole

coteaux_aix_en_provence_3_filiere.png
coteaux_aix_en_provence_4_rendement.png

AOC Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence reconnue en

1985
Les vignes des Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence sont les plus à l’ouest des vins de Provence. L’aire d’appellation s'étend de la Durance à la mer Méditerranée, et de la vallée du Rhône à l'ouest à la montagne Sainte-Victoire à l'est. Elle entoure l’étang de Berre et traverse les paysages peints par Cézanne. C'est entre des reliefs constitués d'une succession de chaînons parallèles au littoral - chaîne de la Nerthe, chaîne de la Fare, chaîne d'Eguilles et de la Trévaresse, chaînon des Costes prolongé par les Alpilles - que se concentre l'activité viticole.

La protection du mistral

Le climat, de type méditerranéen, est marqué par le Mistral, vent du Nord dominant froid et sec. Il permet à l'appellation de bénéficier d'un ensoleillement annuel moyen de 2 900 heures. De faibles pluies - entre 550 et 680 mm par an - sont essentiellement concentrées sur le printemps et l'automne.

cap_110804_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Des sols variés

Dans cette zone occidentale de la Provence calcaire, les sols rencontrés sont majoritairement :

  • argilo-calcaire caillouteux,
  • sableux, souvent graveleux sur molasses et grès,
  • caillouteux à matrice argileuse ou limono-sableux sur les terrasses de l'Arc et de la Durance
dscn7386_cedric_skrzypczak_civp.jpg

En dégustation - Millésime 2016

Les Rosés Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence

Les robes sont claires, vives aux reflets bleutés pouvant aller jusqu’au grisé. Fruités plus que floraux, souvent intenses, les nez sont expressifs, avec des notes aromatiques allant des agrumes aux fruits rouges. Les bouches sont amples avec un support acide capable de résister à la puissance alcoolique. Complexes, puissants et fruités, ces vins rosés, encore fermés durant l’hiver, vont s’ouvrir au printemps pour mettre en valeur la cuisine méditerranéenne mais aussi asiatique.

gv_090801_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Les Rouges Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence

Les rouges 2016, avec des couleurs allant du pourpre au grenat sombre, présentent des nez complexes souvent caractérisés par des notes de fruits noirs, et une bouche puissante, structurée, « sauvage », avec une tanicité largement présente. Ils seront prêts à consommer après une période d’élevage non négligeable. A fort potentiel de garde, ce millésime rentrera en rouge dans la lignée des très grands tels que 2011 ou 2015.

rouge_4_fondacci_civp.jpg

Les Blancs Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence

Les blancs 2016 sont à la fois fins, expressifs et puissants, les nez sont complexes marqués par des traditionnelles notes de fleurs blanches et d’agrumes, des bouches puissantes et rondes avec de belles longueurs.

gv_blanc_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg