Did you know ?

A rosé wine is not a blend of red and white wine! It is wine made specially, with close attention given at every moment in its development, to the colour, aromas and taste that have made it such as success. Because of the precision and the attention to detail that it demands, of all the three colours, rosé wine is probably the most complicated to produce.

vin_120702_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

The colour of Rosé

Only the skins of black grapes contain colour pigments; the pulp, which gives the juice, is colourless. As a result, the colour of a rosé wine will depend on how long the skins and the juice are in contact, and at what temperature. This is known as the maceration process. It is also during this sensitive stage that the flavours of rosé wines are extracted. The vinification method also plays an important role: rosés that are directly pressed tend to be lighter in colour with low intensity, as opposed to rosés elaborated by means of skin maceration which will be of a more sustained colour. Lastly, the choice of varietals and the terroir also affect the colour and personality of a rosé wine.

verre_3_fondacci_civp.jpg

Elaboration of Rosé : a delicate technique

In Provence, there are two main techniques used at this stage: skin maceration or direct press.

The choice of either technique is guided by several factors: the condition and ripeness of the harvest, the vinified varietals and their sensory potential, the choice of their proportions during blending and the desired sensory profile.

In both cases, making a rosé demands much more attention to detail in order to obtain an attractive colour and tastes that are both delicate and expressive.

Provence : schéma de vinification des vins Rosés

vinification_flowchart.raw.jpg
vinification_flowchart_mobile.raw.jpg

Skin maceration

Harvest
The grape harvest arrives at the cellar. Rosé is usually made from black-skinned grapes, although a small amount of white grapes can provide additional flavour and roundness.

Stripping
The grape berries are separated from the stalk (stem or woody part of the bunch).

Stomping
The berries are stomped. They burst and release the grapes' pulp, skin, seeds and juice. This mixture is called the must.

Maceration
The must macerates in a tank for 2 to 20 hours at a controlled temperature of 16°C to 20°C. The pigments and flavours in the grape skins mix with the juice and begin to colour it. The juice takes on its lovely rosy hue.

Pressing
Once the juice reaches the colour that the winemaker wants, the must is pressed to separate the solid part (skins and seeds) from the liquid (juice).

Fermentation The juice ferments at a low temperature (18°C to 20°C) to preserve the taste as much as possible. Fermentation takes an average of one week.

NB: Why is it called "cold skin maceration"? Because the low temperature delays the onset of fermentation. So there is no alcohol in the juice at the beginning of this process.

130601_chai_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Direct press

This technique involves pressing the bunches directly (either whole or stripped), without macerating them first. In this case, they are pressed very slowly, giving the skins time to leach a light, delicately rosy colour into the juice. The liquid is then immediately put into fermentation.

Rosé wines that undergo direct press tend to be lighter in colour than rosés produced by skin maceration.

140327_chai_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

It should be noted that, in other regions, a third technique may also be used: saignée. That method consists of racking about 5% to 15% of the juice, after a few hours in the tank. The removed portion is then used to make rosé. The remainder is vinified as red wine.

gv_090801_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Le saviez-vous ?

Le vin rosé n’est pas un mélange de vin rouge et de vin blanc ! C’est un vin produit tout spécialement, avec une attention de tous les instants pour sa couleur, ses arômes et son goût qui ont bâti son succès. Par la précision et la minutie qu’il exige, le vin rosé est, des trois couleurs, probablement le vin le plus délicat à élaborer.

vin_120702_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

La couleur du vin Rosé

Seule la peau des raisins noirs contient des pigments colorés, la pulpe qui donne le jus est elle incolore. La couleur du vin rosé va donc dépendre de la durée et de la température lors du contact entre les peaux et le jus : c'est le temps de macération. C’est aussi durant cette phase délicate que sont extraits les arômes du vin rosé. Le mode de vinification joue ainsi un rôle important; les vins rosés issus de pressurage direct sont généralement des rosés assez clairs de faible intensité contrairement aux rosés élaborés par macération pelliculaire dont la couleur est, elle, plus soutenue. Enfin le choix de cépages et le terroir influencent également la couleur et la personnalité du rosé.

verre_3_fondacci_civp.jpg

L'élaboration du rosé, Une technique délicate

En Provence, deux techniques sont principalement utilisées pour cette étape : la macération pelliculaire et le pressurage direct. Le choix de l’une ou l’autre technique sera guidé par plusieurs facteurs : l’état et la maturité de la vendange, les cépages vinifiés et leur potentiel organoleptique, le choix de leur proportion au moment de leur assemblage et le profil organoleptique recherché. Dans les deux cas, produire du vin rosé demande beaucoup de minutie pour obtenir une belle couleur et des arômes délicats et expressifs à la fois.

Provence : schéma de vinification des vins Rosés

schema_de_vinification.raw.raw.png
sche_ma_de_vinification_mobile_03.raw_copie.raw.png

La macération pelliculaire

La vendange
La vendange de raisins arrive au chai. Le rosé est habituellement produit à partir de raisins noirs, mais un petit apport de raisins blancs permet de donner aux vins de la rondeur et des arômes supplémentaires.

Égrappage
Les baies (ou grains de raisin) sont séparées de la rafle (tige ou partie ligneuse de la grappe).

Foulage
Les baies sont foulées. Elles éclatent et libèrent la pulpe, la peau, les pépins et le jus de raisin. Cet ensemble se nomme le moût.

Macération
Le moût macère dans une cuve entre 2h et 20h à une température contrôlée de 10°C à 15°C. Les pigments et les arômes contenus dans la pellicule du raisin se mélangent au jus et commence à le colorer. Le jus prend sa jolie couleur rosée.

Pressurage
Quand la couleur correspond au souhait du vigneron, le moût est pressé pour séparer la partie solide (peaux et pépins) du jus.

Fermentation
Le jus fermente à basse température (15 à 20°C) pour préserver au maximum les arômes. La fermentation dure en moyenne une semaine.

NB : pourquoi l’appelle-t-on « macération pelliculaire à froid » ? Parce que la basse température retarde le début de la fermentation. Il n’y a donc pas encore d’alcool pendant le début de ce processus.

130601_chai_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Le pressurage direct

Cette technique consiste à presser directement les grappes (entières ou éraflées) sans macération préalable. Le pressurage est alors très lent et les peaux ont le temps de donner une légère couleur, finement rosée, au jus. Celui-ci est immédiatement mis à fermenter.

Les vins rosés de pressurage direct sont généralement plus clairs que les vins rosés de macération pelliculaire.

140327_chai_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

À noter que dans d’autres régions, une 3ème technique est utilisée : la saignée. Cette méthode consiste à soutirer, quelques heures après le début de la cuvaison, 5 à 15% de la cuve, qui deviendra du rosé. Le reste est vinifié en vin rouge.

gv_090801_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg