The Mediterranean and the Alps. Between these two wonders of natures, there is a third, this time man-made: the Provençal vineyard. Its dazzling, sun-drenched vines span 200 kilometres, crossing through the Var, Bouches-du-Rhône and part of the Alpes-Maritimes departments. Under the southern sun, the scenery is breath-taking. When you set foot among the vines, a holiday feeling floats through the air. This is assuredly why the grapes there are so gorgeous and its wines so delicious.

Provence

A picture-perfect terroir

The Provençal landscape is uniquely beautiful and the topography is unforgettable. The most remarkable sites include The Sainte-Victoire Mountain, the Sainte-Baume Mountains, the crystalline Massif des Maures and the volcanic Esterel Massif.

While the West and North parts of the wine region rest on a limestone bed sculpted by erosion, in the Eastern area, facing the sea, sit the crystalline Maures and Tanneron Massifs. The landscapes are made up of hills and small mountains with gentle curves, covered with shrubbery and forests. Continuing to the East, between Saint-Tropez and Cannes, this crystalline group is dotted with eruptive streaks with astonishing rocks like the colourful porphyry of the volcanic Esterel Massif.

th_140710_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Perfect soil for grapes

These two geological areas, made of limestone and crystal, correspond to two plant formations characteristic of the Mediterranean: the garrigue, on calcareous soil, and the maquis, on crystalline soil. Neither of these two types of vegetation creates substantial humus. As a general rule, the soil of wine-making Provence is poor, but well-drained. This shallow land, with no excess humidity, is ideal for the typically Mediterranean plant that is the grapevine.

The Mistral wind play with the sun

The Mediterranean climate is perfect: sunny, dry and warm. The grapevines can expect about 2,800 hours of sun each year. The winds are many and are an integral part of the region's climate. The most violent and well-known of these is the Mistral. It is particularly dry, cools down the vineyards and, above all, protects them from humidity-related illnesses.

The Provence Wine Contest

Organized by the CIVP (Provence Wine Council), this contest is restricted to rosé, red and white wines from the Côtes de Provence, Coteaux Varois en Provence and Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence AOCs. The different judgest panels, are made up of professionals (oenologists, sommeliers, technical experts and journalists) and amateur wine-tasters. They blind taste all 600 samples in competition – to ensure complete reliability. Each year around 100 Provence AOC wines of all three colours are awarded gold, silver and bronze medals. The Provence Wines Contest is under the control of the Regional Directorate for Competition, Consumption and Fraud Repression and is registered on the list of national wine contests.

Go to the Provence Wine Contest website (in French)

Download the list of 2017 Winners

concoursvinsdeprovence.png
vigne.jpg

Varietals

More than a dozen varietals – or grape varieties – are used to make Provence AOC wines. Some of them form a foundation that can be found in the majority of the region's wines, while others are more specific to certain appellations.

Over the course of the winter after each harvest, the recently-finished wines are assembled based on the qualities of each varietal, to obtain balanced wines.

In Provence, blending is a very old wine-making tradition.

vi_0605d_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg
vi_0605d_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

More than a dozen varietals – or grape varieties – are used to make Provence AOC wines. Some of them form a foundation that can be found in the majority of the region's wines, while others are more specific to certain appellations.

Over the course of the winter after each harvest, the recently-finished wines are assembled based on the qualities of each varietal, to obtain balanced wines.

In Provence, blending is a very old wine-making tradition.

La Méditerranée, les Alpes. Entre ces deux merveilles de la nature, une troisième, façonnée par l’homme : le vignoble provençal. Ses vignes radieuses, gorgées de soleil, s’étendent sur 200 kilomètres à travers les départements du Var, des Bouches-du-Rhône et une partie des Alpes-Maritimes. Sous le soleil du Midi, le paysage est à couper le souffle. En posant le pied dans les vignes, il flotte un air de vacances. C’est sans doute pour cela que le raisin y est si beau et que ses vins sont si bons.

Le vignoble provençal

Un terroir de carte postale

La beauté du paysage provençal est unique. Le relief inoubliable. Parmi les sites remarquables se trouvent la montagne Sainte-Victoire, le massif de la Sainte-Baume, des Maures ou encore le massif volcanique de l'Estérel. Deux grands ensembles géologiques coexistent, l'un calcaire sur la partie Ouest et Nord du vignoble et l'autre, cristallin sur la parie Est, face à la mer.

th_140710_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Un sol idéal pour la vigne

À ces deux ensembles géologiques, calcaire et cristallin, correspondent deux formations végétales caractéristiques de la Méditerranée : la garrigue sur sol calcaire et le maquis sur sol cristallin. Aucun de ces deux types de végétation ne peut constituer d'importants apports en humus. En règle générale, les sols de la Provence viticole sont donc pauvres mais bien drainés. Ces terrains peu profonds, sans excès d'humidité, conviennent parfaitement à la plante méditerranéenne qu'est la vigne.

Le Mistral joue avec le soleil

Le climat méditerranéen est parfait : ensoleillé, sec et chaud. Les vignes comptent environ 2800 heures de soleil par an. Les vents sont nombreux et font partie intégrante du climat de la région. Le plus violent et le plus connu est le Mistral. Particulièrement sec, il permet de rafraichir le vignoble, mais surtout de l’assainir, le protégeant ainsi des maladies liées à l’humidité.

Le Concours des Vins de Provence

Organisé par le CIVP, ce concours est réservé aux vins rosés, rouges et blancs des appellations Côtes de Provence, Coteaux Varois en Provence et Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence. Les différents jurys composés de professionnels (œnologues, sommeliers, techniciens et journalistes) et de dégustateurs amateurs du jury d’œnophiles, dégustent, à l'aveugle pour une complète fiabilité, les 600 échantillons présentés. Chaque édition distingue ainsi par l'attribution de médailles d'or, d'argent ou de bronze, une centaine de vins AOC de Provence dans les 3 couleurs. Le Concours des Vins de Provence est placé sous le contrôle de la Direction Régionale de la Concurrence, de la Consommation, et de la Répression des Fraudes et est inscrit sur la liste des concours vinicoles nationaux.

Accédez au site internet du Concours des Vins de Provence

Téléchargez le Palmarès 2017

concoursvinsdeprovence.png
vigne.jpg

Les cépages

Plus d'une douzaine de cépages, ou types de raisins, entrent dans l'élaboration des vins de Provence. Certains d'entre eux constituent une base que l'on retrouve dans la majorité du vignoble, alors que d'autres sont plus spécifiques à certaines appellations.

Au cours de l’hiver qui suit la récolte, les vins juste finis sont assemblés selon les qualités de chaque cépage pour obtenir des vins équilibrés. L’assemblage est, en Provence, une très ancienne tradition vigneronne.

vi_0605d_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg
vi_0605d_francoismillo.com_civp.jpg

Plus d'une douzaine de cépages, ou types de raisins, entrent dans l'élaboration des vins de Provence. Certains d'entre eux constituent une base que l'on retrouve dans la majorité du vignoble, alors que d'autres sont plus spécifiques à certaines appellations.

Au cours de l’hiver qui suit la récolte, les vins juste finis sont assemblés selon les qualités de chaque cépage pour obtenir des vins équilibrés. L’assemblage est, en Provence, une très ancienne tradition vigneronne.